A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas


A Court of Thorns and Roses

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! addtogoodreads_zps55cd15da16 The Reviewer JoyTAG

If you like your fairytales dark, full of angst, and complicated romances then this book is right up your alley.

Feyre lives in a world that was once controlled and inhabited by powerful Faeries. After a great war the Fae built a wall separating Faeries from humankind. The stories of their beauty, danger and power and the tales of how they once enslaved humanity are still told as warnings to each human generation. Humans tread carefully trying to not cross the lines that divide the worlds or break the rules that separate the two in fear of what would happen. One day Feyre breaks one of those sacred rules and she’s forced to face the consequences of her actions.

A powerful and dangerous beast of a Fae comes to take her away to a world she has only heard of through dark whispers and nightmarish warnings, a world where humans are but delicate play toys. She resents her capture but soon she’ll find out that the one who swept her away into the dangerous world of the Faeries isn’t her greatest threat but perhaps her most important ally. A force stronger and deadlier is coming after them and her will to survive and fight for love may be the one thing that will save them all from destruction.

Can a human defeat an ancient power and survive?

The imagery is dreamy and magical. The characters are sinful and enthralling. Feyre is an interesting character whose love of hunting is just as strong as her love of painting. The story is a tale as old as time and leaves you asking can love truly stand against darkness. I fell into this story full force. Once I finished the book I had to reluctantly dig my way out of the world of Faeries and mourn the loss of the imagery that kept me voraciously reading night after night. I wanted more and I can’t wait to read more about Feyre, Tamlin, Lucien, and Rhysand. In the meantime I’ll be waiting impatiently, tapping my fingers on my desk. Is the second book out yet?

fourstars

Purchase LinksTAGKindle | Nook